Monday, September 20, 2010

Honolulu- The capital of Hawaii

Honolulu is the capital of Hawaii. Although Honolulu refers to the urban area on the southeastern shore of the island of Oahu, the city and the county are consolidated, known as the City and County of Honolulu, and the city and county are designated as the entire island. The City and County of Honolulu is the only incorporate city in Hawaii, as all other local government entities are administered at the county level. The population was 371,657 in 2000, while the population of the City and County was 909,863, known as the 57th-largest metropolitan area in the United States. Honolulu is also the most populous state capital relative to state population. In the Hawaiian language, Honolulu means "sheltered bay" or "place of shelter"

Symbols of Honolulu

Bird : Nene, also known as the Hawaiian Goose (Branta sandwicensis)

Dance: Hula

Fish: Humuhumunukunukuapua`a, also known as the rectangular trigger fish or Hawaiian trigger fish (Rhinecanthus rectangulus)

Flower: Pua Aloalo, or Ma`o-hau-hele (Hibiscus brackenridgei)

Gem: Black Coral

Individual Sport: Surfing

Insect: Pulelehua, also known as the Kamehameha butterfly (Vanessa tameamea)

Island Colors:
Hawai'i- The official color is Red.
Maui- The official color is Pink.
O'ahu- The official color is Golden Yellow.
Kaua'i- The official color is Purple.
Moloka'i- The official color is Green.
Lana'i- The official color is Orange.
Ni'ihau- The official color is White.
Kaho'olawe- The official color is Gray.

Language: Hawaiian

Mammal: Hawaiian monk seal (Monachus schauinslandi)

Marine Mammal: Humpback Whale (Megaptera novaeangliae)

Plant: Kalo (Colocasia esculenta), Hawaiian word for taro

Popular Name: The Aloha State

Song: Hawai`i Pono`i

Team Sport: Outrigger Canoe Paddling

Tree: Kukui Tree (Aleurites Moluccana)

No comments:

Post a Comment